As you probably know, marijuana use for medical reasons was approved by voters in Arizona. This does not mean that you have the right to own illicit drugs, nor does it mean that state laws against tenure are becoming more lenient.
Have you ever wondered what to expect if you discover that you are in possession (not for sale) of marijuana by an Arizona law enforcement member? Here are the details:
Amount -> Severity -> Prison -> Fine
- Less than 2 lbs. -> Misdemeanor or felony -> 6 months – 2 years -> $ 750 – $ 150,000
- 2 lbs. – 4 lbs. -> Felony -> Up to two years -> $ 750 – $ 150,000
- 4 lbs. Or more -> felony -> one year – 3.75 years -> $ 750 – $ 150,000
- Near school or bus -> felony -> extra year -> 2,000 – $ 150,000
If you have been convicted of your personal possession or use of marijuana, you are eligible for the test and ask the court to suspend or carry out the sentence. During the test, you must participate in an appropriate therapeutic program or educational treatment and you may be required to attend a stricter treatment program and serve one year in prison for a second crime.
If you are convicted of a third or subsequent crime, you are not eligible for the test. You should also take urine tests as a condition for monitoring. Of course, if you have a prescription, a small amount of marijuana, you are exempt from the above.
If you are accused of possession of marijuana without a prescription, contact a criminal attorney who can answer your questions and tell you what to expect in court.